Mission and History


The mission of the Fargo-Moorhead Coalition for Homeless Persons is to work in partnership to find permanent solutions to prevent, reduce, and end homelessness.


The Fargo-Moorhead Coalition for Homeless Persons began in 1989 in response to rising concerns from the four emergency shelters then operating in the area. The number of homeless persons in the area was steadily rising and was higher than the national average. The Coalition became a forum for discussion about the particular circumstances related to working with those experiencing poverty and homelessness. The purpose of the Coalition was to coordinate and improve service delivery to FM homeless persons in the most humane and efficient manner possible.

The Coalition soon became an active force to provide, expand, and obtain new services. In 1994, the Coalition began including any agency directly or indirectly involved in serving homeless and low-income populations. The Coalition became a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation in 2007, and hired its first executive director at that time.

Today, membership includes more than 70 partners from service areas related to housing, physical and behavioral health, addiction, law enforcement, community action, disability, and veteran's issues, as well as faith-based groups and individual community members concerned about homelessness.

Executive Directors

2017-Present   Cody J. Schuler
2010-2017        Laurie J. Baker
2008-2009        Rebekkah Krueger
2007-2008        Michael Carbone

Presidents of the Coaltion     

2017-Present: Cheri Gerken, Executive Director, Presentation Partners in Housing

2015-2016: Joshua Boschee, ND State Representative, Realtor

2013-2014: Chris Johnson, Executive Director, Rape and Abuse Crisis Center

2011-2012: Jan Eliassen, Executive Director, Gladys Ray Shelter and Veterans Drop In Center, City of Fargo

2009-2010: Gary Groberg, Retired, formerly Executive Director, Churches United for the Homeless

2006-2009: Carla Solem, Coordinator, West Central Continuum of Care

1995-2005: Information not found. If you know, please tell us.

1992-1995: Jan Gabriel, Executive Director, YWCA

1989-1991: Dan Danielson, founding president, Executive Director, New Life Center